Liveblogging from the #18 Elm Hill Pike Bus

So I’ve been trying to ride the bus to work once a week. It’s actually two buses to anywhere in Nashville unless you live or work downtown. (Which I don’t.)

My normal commute is less than 10 miles and generally takes about fifteen minutes. Even though I drive an eight year old SUV, at $5.00 per day, the MTA bus isn’t any cheaper and takes three times as long.

But I think it’s an important gesture to make, and my employees think it is hilarious to see one of the owners of the company walking a few blocks to stand at the bus stop on the corner. I’m hoping I can change a few attitudes.

Or maybe I’m just peculiar.

But I figure it should provide some good blog fodder.

Ralph Cramden, out.

Sent from my Treo

7 Responses to Liveblogging from the #18 Elm Hill Pike Bus

  1. SistaSmiff says:

    What is with you? First it was platelets now bus riding to set an example…YOU WON THE SHORT & FAT DATE!!!! You don’t hafta keep making the rest of us look like gas guzzling, platelet hogs. Sheesh.

  2. ceeelcee says:

    Oink, oink.

    Not everybody on the bus is a saint. Just this morning, some old coot leaned across the aisle to a shy Muslim woman with her head covered and asked loudly and slowly, “Do…You…Speak…English?”

    She nodded her head yes.

    He said, “Good!”

  3. saraclark says:

    Ok, are you Athens or Dennis? I think I am in your same business.

  4. ceeelcee says:

    Hi Sara,

    Uh oh, I’ve been outed.

    I’m at the big A. And I’m supposed to be working right now.

    Where are you? Drop me an email to thedryspot at gmail dot com.

    C

  5. fishwreck says:

    Hmmm, I’ll go with “just peculiar.”

    Brave effort, tho. I applaud you putting your convictions into action.

  6. saraclark says:

    Edit me and delete me. I don’t mind. Going offline.

  7. Kerry Woo says:

    Ummm, are you still on the bus or waiting downtown to transfer? Because we could pick you up and take you to work. Is the MTA anything like Greyhound?

Leave a Reply

