A Dollar Short

Kerry Woo and Sis ta Smiff (yeah, I know it’s three different links.  I’m never exactly sure were she is right now…) have been working to turn me on to the angelic vocal stylings of Eva Cassidy.  While I sure enjoy listening to her sing, it’s kind of a mixed bag seeing as she is no longer living.

I have a bad history of discovering musical artists either just before or right after they die.  So I’ve gotten used to not being able to find new music.   I bought my first Muddy Waters album (on vinyl) a week before he died.  I was about six months late on Howlin’ Wolf.

I skipped the last Stevie Ray Vaughan concert at Starwood because I figured, “Hell I’ve seen him 5-6 times already, and now that he’s finally kicked heroin he’ll live forever.”

And I’m still waiting on that new Mozart CD.

So if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll go put on some David Hasselhoff.  (Fingers crossed.)

8 Responses to A Dollar Short

  1. KC says:

    You have something in common with my husband, kinda. He is notorious for getting into bands and artists right before they break up or die.

    I’ve accused him of being the KOD for any musical artist. Resquiat en Pace, Fish, Jerry Garcia, Warren Zevon.

  2. Lynnster says:

    I’m not sure it’s legal to use the term “musical artist” and David Hasselhoff in the same post. But by all means, listen, listen, and listen some more!

  3. Jon says:

    Think of it as a blessing — you’ll never have to see them start to suck when the ideas and/or money runs dry.

  4. WonderDawg says:

    There’s a great band called Spinal Tap… fantastic drummers.

  5. newscoma says:

    All I have to say is Steve Goodman.
    Damn. And I started digging Buffy the Vampire Slayer after the sixth season. Big mistake although I have all the CD’s.
    David Hasselhoff?
    Umm…. okay.

  6. sista smiff says:

    I’ll lend you some of my new happy pills so you can listen to dead singers and not be bummed.

  7. hutchmo says:

    add some Barry Manilow and Kenny G to the mix and make the world safer for good music…Thanx!

  8. Sara Sue says:

    Oh, I’m with you on the Hasselhoff thing! {crossing my fingers, eyes, toes and assorted other body parts!}

Leave a Reply

