It’s 9:00 on Friday Night, Nashville. Do You Know Where Your Teenage Daughter Is?

She’s here with me at the Nashville Arena watching Justin Timberlake. And you should be ashamed about how you let her dress. I know she probably didn’t leave the house wearing that denim microskirt and those pink flip flops, but she stopped in a Mapco restroom with her girlfriends and changed clothes on the way to the show. I recommend you buy her some Desenex in the morning.

I’d tell you about the opening act, Pink, but we completely missed her because the people we were meeting to go to the show were an hour late because they went to the Green Hills Mall to get hair extensions for Justin. I’m not kidding. One of the ladies complained on the three block walk from the restaurant where we ate dinner that if her extensions fell out in the wind, Justin wouldn’t love her. I told her she could just say she was here on a Make a Wish Foundation trip. She actually said that sounded like a good idea.

Visually, Timberlake’s show has been stunning, even from the top row. The special effects and screen projections have been outstanding. I like how his dancers aren’t all x-ray skinny. They look like real people. And they’re very talented.

As far as how he sounds, I have no clue. The shrieking in this place makes me think about what it must have been like to see the Beatles forty years ago. Girls are passing out from forgetting to inhale. It’s really spectacular. Not necessarily my cup of tea, but fun nonetheless.

Luckily, I’m enough of a nerd to have Googled the set list in advance. We’ll be out of here during the penultimate song and on our way to the Sportsman’s. Parents, come get your daughters.

10 Responses to It’s 9:00 on Friday Night, Nashville. Do You Know Where Your Teenage Daughter Is?

  1. newscoma says:

    I realize that you actually went to this concert, but for some reason, I can’t imagine you being at a Justin Timberlake show.
    It boggles the mind (I still like Sexy Back.)
    I have no idea why, but I find myself screaming “Yee-ahh” at completely inappropriate times.

  2. sistasmiff says:

    We were going down towards Franklin and passing the Broadway exit, saw all the traffic and I thought it was for a Predators game THEN I remembered, “No! It’s Justin Timberlake and C is there!” Smitty was quiet for a minute and then he said, “Well, I saw him at the Grammies.” Heh.

  3. sara sue says:

    Desenex! Ha Ha! Somehow, I knew you’d have a good time.

    ‘Coma, is there really an inappropriate time to scream “Yee-ahh”?

  4. Lesley says:

    I tellya, I would have loved to have been there. The boy is a talented performer. Note that I say performer, not singer. I don’t love his voice, but he knows how to make the most of what he’s got. So, you didn’t miss any good parts due to the screaming.

    Hair extensions for Justin? I hope I never meet this individual.

  5. bridgett says:

    The healthy physiques of his back-up dancers is probably a holdover from JT’s work with Wade Robson back in the boy band days. Wade prefers strong dancers with street-ready bodies over the sickly “sticks with boobs” coathanger types.

  6. […] it really take 7 years to digest swallowed gum? Slarti hits a milestone! I recommend you buy her some Desenex in the morning. Paying the price of love? or…the things B gets herself into. Brain. Hurts. Send. Help. Kat’s […]

  7. Katherine Coble says:

    Well, I’m glad you made it through okay.

    But fess up. Was it so bad being around a bunch of pert young things?

  8. all the ps2 games

    Really nice site you have here. Ive been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work.

  9. spyware delete

    Really nice site you have here. Ive been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work.

  10. psp game download

    Aww… I just found this blog too! Well best of luck with the projects.I’m thinking about doing the same thing very soon.

Leave a Reply

