Man, That Guy is Good!

RUABelle and I went to the Dragon’s Concert starring Delbert McClinton last night. It was the 10th annual show he has done to benefit the Nashville Childrens Theatre. As always, he put on a great show and raised a potload of money for one of my favorite causes.

Anyhoo, RUABelle and I were standing around smelling the bbq buffet (darned Lent!) when we saw an old classmate of mine who we met at the Blogger Xmas pary at the Mothership. It was my personal favorite mayoral candidate, David Briley. I was very pleased that he showed up at the fundraiser, since the NCT is a great gift to the children of Middle Tennessee and also because the Metro Council is our landlord. So I told him I was glad to see him and we chatted for a little while.

Immediately afterwards, I had to go to the bathroom (didn’t give up beer for Lent) in one of those kiddie urinals about three inches above my shoetops. As is my wont, I checked my email while I was in there so that my lovely girlfriend who thinks I’m obsessive about the internet wouldn’t know that I was being obsessive about the internet.

Lo and behold, what in my email inbox should appear? That’s right, a fundraising appeal email from David Briley for mayor. Three minutes after I just got done talking to him. He’s already got my money, but color me darned impressed with his organization and internet savvy.

If he can act on issues confronting our city in this timely fashion, he’ll make a great mayor.

2 Responses to Man, That Guy is Good!

  1. Lynnster says:

    I had ribs (Corky’s) yesterday for lunch and thought of you. I thought I should eat them in honor of you and RUABelle. It’s OK, you don’t have to tell me how very much you appreciate it.

  2. lcreekmo says:

    Aww, I really enjoyed the BBQ I had for dinner [Not Mothership 😦 but my favorite East Nashville ‘cue, also very good stuff] until I came over here. So sorry….

    But, you just went up three steps in my estimation for being friends with David. He’s got my money too!

Leave a Reply

