Gotcha’ Nose

I guess I’m way behind the curve, but it’s been 41 years (minus a week) since I was adopted by my parents and I was totally unaware of the concept of a “Gotcha Day.” As usual, it took the Hallmark section at Harris Teeter to enlighten me that I was supposed to be celebrating something. I’m sure Slartibartfast is much more enlightened.

It was a year ago today that we brought home Nervous Nellie the Pudelhund. Ruabelle had seen her first in a kill shelter in Murfreesboro and she hadn’t been groomed in forever and smelled like urine. Her original owners were getting a divorce and both have them had neglected their pet, either in a display of passive-agressiveness toward each other or just out of sheer ass-hatted neglect.

Nellie looked like this:

nellieatpound.jpg

I was out of the country on business, so even though RUABelle felt a real need to rescue this pitiful poodle, she didn’t want to do it without my approval. By the time I got back to Nashville, she called the pound and found out that Nellie was no longer there. Knowing that dogs have a 5-7 day lifespan at this particular shelter, RUABelle feared the worst and was disconsolate.

The day I got back from China, I didn’t even know what day it was, but I was determined to support RUABelle and get her to actually get off of square one and pick a dog. I’m also a firm believer that the right dog has to find you.

So off we went to a “Dog Day” at the Tractor Supply in Murfreesboro. RUABelle had discovered a female golden retriever on petfinder.com that had been cut by a barbed wire fence and was in desparate need of a new owner that could offer the medical care she needed.

As we pulled into the parking lot, RUABelle exclaime, “That’s the dog I saw last week at the pound!” I still don’t know how she recognized Nellie since she had luckily been placed in a rescue foster home and shaved to clean up all her knotted dreadlocks.

angie4.jpg

The fact that we found her again was enough of a sign for me and we took her home. If you’re a long time reader of The Dry Spot, you know that it wasn’t easy early on. I still have the scars on both wrists to prove it.

But through a lot of hard work and training of everybody’s part, a lot of patience and a lot of love, Nellie finally came around. She is much more comfaortable with me and other people now. She’s turned into a very loving member of our family and a ferociously loud watchdog when necessary.

So happy Gotcha Day, Nellie! Somebody’s getting some new squeaky toys and a special dinner tonight. cimg0375.jpg

10 Responses to Gotcha’ Nose

  1. newscoma says:

    Happy Anniversary/Gotcha Day.
    This is so of the good and she’s a great dog.
    Need to let her meet Mabel, who will never be an Alpha, no worries.
    **sorry about the butt talk. Couldn’t help it. Figured you were lurking. Hee ***

  2. […] apparently like an anniversary of getting someone. Usually a child, but in their case, their dog. Go tell ‘em congratulations! Spread It Around: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

  3. Kathy T. says:

    That’s sweet! I gotcha a girl scout troop available for adoption. No?

  4. Lynnster says:

    Happy Gotcha Day, Nellie! She looks so sweet in that bottom photo.

    Man, nearly every animal in this house is a “gotcha” except for one old and four young “oopses”…

  5. Jennifer says:

    Hope Nellie had a great “Gotcha Day”

  6. sistasmiff says:

    Congratulations on Nellie’s Cee/RUAday. I’m so not a good pet owner anymore. It’s a good day if mine get fed. I love them though.

  7. newscoma says:

    Has Captain Howdy kidnapped you? Missing me some Smiley.

  8. Lynnster says:

    Has Captain Howdy kidnapped you? Missing me some Smiley.

    It’s not my fault, even though I… :: whisper :: suggested that Captain Howdy give Rex back and go hang out at Smiley’s… :: whisper off ::

  9. dreadlocks says:

    dreadlocks

    dreadlocks

  10. […] Happy Gotchaversary! Not only is today the 2nd anniversary of the bodacious Jag and her beloved CookinBoy, but I can’t believe it’s been two years since this little bundle of neuroses came into our lives. […]

Leave a Reply

