Personal Best

No…not the lesbilicious Mariel Hemingway movie of the early 80’s. (Note to self, add to NetFlix queue.) This morning I completed my first competitive 5-K in the Historic East Nashville Run. I finished in just under 27 minutes, which is definitely my fastest 5-K ever.

I took off with a fast crowd and kept them behind me for almost the whole race. I never had to walk, but my pace was in constant decline from the halfway point on. Lesson learned: don’t be the jackrabbit. I haven’t seen the results, but I’m guessing that should put me in the middle of the pack for both my age division and the whole field. I did lose to a guy pushing a stroller and to another guy running with a weimaraner.

Yeah, the damn dog may have beat my time, but I won the critical measure of fewest stops on the course to take a dump.

2-1.

10 Responses to Personal Best

  1. sara sue says:

    CLC, Congrats on the 5K in 27 minutes! I’d be road kill somewhere in Nashville, somewhere close to the starting line.

  2. newscoma says:

    Good for you.
    That’s really cool.

  3. […] Run Smiley! Run! This morning I completed my first competitive 5-K in the Historic East Nashville Run. I finished in just under 27 minutes, which is definitely my fastest 5-K ever. Spread It Around: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

  4. fishwreck says:

    You done good, Cee.

  5. sistasmiff says:

    That’s fantastic. Now you’ll be hooked and become one of those irritating runner types, eating sprouts and drinking God only knows what sorta concoctions.

    I’m most impressed.

  6. chez bez says:

    My sis-in-law ran the same race. Three weeks after giving birth, I might add.

    I was thinking of running a 5K a few weeks ago, but blew it off due to the early start time.

    Congrats on your run.

  7. Cee that is so awesome!

    I can’t run worth a lick – thus, I prefer to drive to where I need to get to.

  8. Way to go Cee
    From your sloth of a friend

  9. Jennifer says:

    Great Job!

Leave a Reply

