Sometimes I Can Be Such a Douchebag…

Something has been gnawing at me for a week now and I need to do something about it.

At last Thursday’s fête en tête-à-tête at the Flying Saucer, I spoke to a Nashville blogger who I think I had only met once before. I won’t name her specifically, because she didn’t do anything wrong and this post is all about my lunkheadedness. I don’t even know if she reads thedryspot.net regularly, but I do know that she’s in my Twitter playgroup.

I really like her stuff and was looking forward to talking to her and getting to know her a little better. So in my awkward nervousness of approaching somebody I hardly know but really admire, (Yeah, I’m shy. I’m a loudmouthed shy guy. There were more than a few of us at the soiree…) I blathered something along the lines of:

“So what do you do in real life?” and/or “Do you have a real job?”

She politely responded that she was a stay at home mom. I knew that. Shit, I’ve been reading about her stay at home life for over a year now. Picture in your mind Chris Farley hitting himself in the head as he interviewed Sir Paul McCartney on SNL. “So, do you remember the Beatles? That was awesome.”

I awkwardly mumbled something like, “Oh wow. You’ve got a REAL job right there.” Stupid, stupid, stupid.

So in summary: I am childless. I am a corporate tool who is but a cog in the industrial machine where I joylessly commute to and from every day. I am often clueless and I am frequently boorish.

I publicly, humbly and sincerely apologize to this very nice person for being such a dumbass.

12 Responses to Sometimes I Can Be Such a Douchebag…

  1. newscoma says:

    You are a nice guy, you know that. I don’t know what you did, but that you thought about it makes me just want to give you a big hug. (Of course, with Ruabelle and Squirrel Queen present.)

  2. Ginger says:

    I know you didn’t do this for praise, but wow, that is really very cool of you to do that.

    Great post title, too. lol

  3. Busy Mom says:

    I’d give you a big hug without anyone present.

    Now I have to post the “kidding” disclaimer since someone who doesn’t know me might read that.

    Seriously, though, it sound like your “real job” reference was meant in contrast to blogging, and, not paid v. not paid employment.

  4. Kathy T. says:

    Well I didn’t mind it at all when you said that to me! Hahahaha! Just kidding. I don’t think you sent anything dumbassery my way except I just didn’t get to talk with you much. You must’ve been busy agonizing about the other gal. BTW, I frequently have my foot all the way down my throat and swirling around in my tum-tum. Welcome to my club.

  5. Malia says:

    I doubt that it was taken as being offensive. If it had been me, I wouldn’t have thought twice about it. But you’re awfully sweet and big-hearted to say something about it!

  6. And now i’m going back through my memory to think who this might have been.

    Because *I* have no real job at present to occupy me. ;-p

  7. john h says:

    Considering that I have talked to Mr. Roboto at at least two other blogger functions, I felt like a total idiot forgetting who he is and introducing myself to him asking his name..d’oh!

    I think most of us (there are some exceptions, ivy) at those functions are operating at a semi-advanced case of neuroticism hoping that we won’t be exposed as the complete nimrods we often think we are (or is that just me??).

  8. badbadivy says:

    I can’t figure out who it might have been, either, Kat. My first thought was Malia, but I guess not. Anyway, Cee, we all forget shit. Hell, I didn’t know exactly what Jag or Emily did, either. Come to find out, we all do essentially the same thing. Except I’m leaving my HR gig, hee hee.

  9. Mr. Mack says:

    You insensitive prick. I’m so disappointed in you I could just hurl. To think, a supposedly enlightened guy assuming Stay At Home Moms don’t have a real life. I’m crushed, man.

    Well thats out of my system. I actually have the worst memory on the planet for people’s particulars. I, like John H, have introduced myself to people I have met several times. I’m blaming Mad Cow.

    Anyway, I understand what you are saying, but I bet it didn’t come across as badly as you think it did.

  10. fishwreck says:

    Finally, a grand, public apology from the clueless, boorish douchebag of a corporate tool — and you apologize for forgetting what someone does outside of blogging?! Are you kidding me?! Talk about missed opportunities! Wait, people do something outside of blogging?

    Hey, if that’s all you’ve got to make public apologies for, you’re doing just fine, my friend.

  11. Rachel says:

    Har. I am likewise afflicted with foot-in-mouth-disease.
    PS – Did you see my recent blood donation photos? The bruise is currently holding at 3″ long, 1+” wide.

Leave a Reply

