Aunt B Oughta Kick My Ass

I had a little time to kill in the airport before my flight to St. Louis, so I thought I’d check out some of the “Arts in the Airport” that all of our tax dollars are supporting.

Most of it is crap, but there is an excellent display in the hallway between the two security checkpoints. Local sculptor Alan LeQuire, he of “Musica” and “Athena” fame, has created a series of very large busts (that’s not the Aunt B connection, you little GooglePervs) of cultural icons.

I walked down the line marveling at his representations of Woody Guthrie, Bessie Smith, Billie Holliday and Paul Robeson. But when I approached the last sculpture, I was stopped in my tracks. I thought, “Why in the hell did he include a bust of Nipsey Russell?!”

russell_nipsey_cp_8578552.jpg

It was Lead Belly. My bad.

nipsey.jpg

4 Responses to Aunt B Oughta Kick My Ass

  1. Mack says:

    All folk singers look alike to me too.

  2. sara sue says:

    Nipsey Russel!! LMAO!

  3. […] The Waffle House, without the atmosphere.   The Varsity – The Varsity is the restaurant where Nipsey Russell got his start. Beyond that bit of trivia, I’m not sure what the appeal is. If you’d […]

Leave a Reply

