We’re Getting Older, Folks.

Just as RUABelle and I sat down at our best friends’ house to watch the Titans/Bengals debacle on Sunday, my friend got that dreaded phone call that comes more often as we get older.  His grandfather had passed away that morning.

I never know the right thing to say.  Having gone through the death of family members a few times in my life, you never want to act like you know exactly how anybody feels or what they want/need to hear.  So you just hang onto them and ask how you can help.

But in this particular case, in retrospect, I thought of a few questions that I wish I had offered to console my friend.

Did he live a long, full life?

Did he pass away without suffering or fear?

Was he still close with his family throughout his life?

Did he know you loved him?

Was he proud of you and who you’ve become?

I happen to know that the answer to all of these questions was a resounding yes.  That’s as good as these things get.

4 Responses to We’re Getting Older, Folks.

  1. newscoma says:

    I’m sure you did fine if you followed that list, which was incredible.

  2. […] Smiley was at a friend’s house when his buddy found out bad news. Just as RUABelle and I sat down at our best friends’ house to watch the Titans/Bengals debacle on Sunday, my friend got that dreaded phone call that comes more often as we get older. His grandfather had passed away that morning. […]

  3. Good reads says:

    […] friend, CeeElCee has a wonderful post about things to say in consolation when someone passes […]

  4. Winston says:

    Like you, I rarely know what to say. Usually something as simple as “I’m sorry to hear that.” and “What can I do for you?” are quite sufficient…

Leave a Reply

