I’d Better Watch My Back

I was the history major in the family, but RUABelle is the researcher. After our beloved dog passed away a few years ago, she took an appropriate time to open her heart to another animal and then set to work researching what kind of new dog to get. Every day my email box would be filled with listings from petfinder.com. Each of them looked sweet and adorable and pitiful and absolutely in need of a loving household like ours.

My position was that of the executive branch, strictly a veto option. So it’s really my fault that we got Nellie the Nervous Pudelhund who used to bite me and crap and pee all over me. In the end, after a year of loving and diligent training, she has turned into a great member of the family.

After the puppy research was over, new used car fever set in for RUABelle. Back to the internet she went and my email box runnethed over again, this time with posts from cars.com, ebay motors and carmax. Again, I expressed few opinions until she actually took me to drive a car with her after months of deliberation. “I like it.” I said. “You should buy it. I’ll transfer the money into your account on the way to work tomorrow.” She was utterly bumfoozled that I could make such an important decision like that so quickly and actually pull the trigger on the commercial transaction part of the process, but I’m a gatherer-not a hunter.

Again, it was a great choice and we’ve both really enjoyed her vehicle, especially on the one or two occasions a year that she actually lets me drive it.

Then it was dog time again. Nellie needed a little playmate to help wear her out during the day so that we could sleep at night. She endangered my disk storage limits as yet another research effort that would be worthy of a masters thesis ensued until we finally went to a pet adoption day and took home the first dog I held. Behold the wonder that is Rufus.

lisa-and-andy.jpg

Again, an excellent choice through our combined efforts.

However last weekend, RUABelle drove my truck and decided it’s a dangerous piece of junk. She sent me links to eight different used cars yesterday. I’d better check my bank account.

I hope she never gets on match.com. Or at the very least that she gives me veto power…

9 Responses to I’d Better Watch My Back

  1. newscoma says:

    I had a tree named Rufus once. It was a tree we planted for Earth Day (me and my mom) and she deemed it Rufus.

    I like this name and the dog looks better than groovy.

  2. I hope she sends you a link for a used Subaru Justy.

  3. fishwreck says:

    Send her here next time she wants to go shopping… you need one of these off the deck ar Sewanee, http://www.endlesspools.com

  4. cravensworld says:

    Hey, just wanted to say thank you for purchasing my artwork at the Stewman auction, I’m glad you got the winning bid. I can’t think of anyone else I would rather have it.

  5. Lynnster says:

    I don’t know how I missed the original announcement, but congrats on your new baby! And how awesome that Nellie actually likes him! I would have guessed she wouldn’t.

    And Rufus is a perfect name! Glad you didn’t take someone’s suggestion of Buster as I believe naming one’s dog Buster causes tremendous spoiling… I have one and you can call any pet in this house’s name and still wind up with Buster!!

    Enjoy the new poochie baby!

  6. Awww. Looks like the perfect new member to your family. Can’t wait to meet Rufus.
    We’ll bring treats.

  7. great pic of both of them!
    love it!

  8. Congratulations!
    I hope Rufus never needs a cone, but just in case prepare him by looking at the other blog I have fun with DogsWithCones.com.
    Got you in my RSS!

  9. […] probably wasn’t one of my navel gazing moments or odes to my […]

Leave a Reply

