When I Walk Under the Trees, Birds go “Cheep, Cheep, Cheap.”

RUABelle swears that I must have been reincarnated from someone who starved to death during the Great Depression.

In the past week she has caught me:

Using vice grips to get the last three squeezes out of a tooth paste tube.

Cutting a hole in the udder of a wine in a box to pour one last 1/8 of a glass.

Stuffing my pockets full of blue paper shop towels from a Texaco station.

Bringing home four packets of peanuts from a couple of Southwest flights despite the fact that I am allergic to them.

Checking out and returning the same random CD on consecutive days at the Metro library downtown so I can park for free.

I prefer to call it “frugal.”

4 Responses to When I Walk Under the Trees, Birds go “Cheep, Cheep, Cheap.”

  1. hey, you stayed in the 4 seasons… it’s the universal balancing act

  2. f1uffernutter says:

    Are you by chance employed as a writer or cookbook editor?

  3. newscoma says:

    When you eat peanuts, do you blow up like a blowfish or does it have like mortality issues attached?

    I like the blue towels too. Yeah, I steal ’em.

  4. cravensworld says:

    vise-grips on the toothpaste? That’s too much. (actually the box-o-wine is never empty until you get hand cramps from squeezing it dry, ripping it open and licking the inside of the bag. Dude times is hard.)

Leave a Reply

