Note to NiT

When you repost another aggregator’s entire post that quotes a post that you already posted practically in its entirety, you’re not serving to help drive any traffic to the original author’s site, like a good aggregator should.

You’re just stealing content to populate your own advertiser-driven site.

And that’s not cool.

12 Responses to Note to NiT

  1. Tim Morgan says:

    Yes, I had to unsubscribe this morning. 80 items of the first two lines of posts that many of which I’m already subscribed.

  2. Busy Mom says:

    I kind of liked what they had going recently, too.

    And it irks me that it’s tagging my (everyone’s) posts with tags that lead to NiT posts.

    I could go on, but, I won’t.

  3. Jim Smith says:

    Did you check the site, or just your feed?

    NIT does not post entire feeds. All links (except for tagging) go back to the originating blog.

  4. Jim Smith says:

    Okay, after re-reading my reply it seemed I wasn’t very clear, so please let me try again.

    The feed you were on is now a stream of all posts coming into NIT. So if you are subscribed to many of the same feeds that are being aggregated by NIT, then yes, there is duplication and it doesn’t make sense to be subscribed to that particular feed.

    What I was trying to say that is on the site (not the feed) the links in each post go back to the originating blogs. And we do not attempt to re-post any content in it’s entirety. (A short post may in fact be entirely reposted, but that’s only because it’s short.)

    The point being, NIT does in fact drive traffic to the author’s site. It does not steal content. We made every attempt to avoid that.

    To be sure, there are bugs to be worked out and improvements to be made and we welcome your input.

  5. brittney says:

    I can’t even see the damn thing.

  6. ceeelcee says:

    All I was saying is that the 2nd NiT post is the entire content of the MCB post which was an excerpt of my post, and that NiT had already posted an “excerpt” that was 90% of the text content of my original post.

    That’s not aggregating. That’s scraping.

  7. Jim Smith says:

    ceeelcee: I understand what you’re saying. That particular post you cite is very short.

    NIT attempts to display only the summary of a post, but not everyone provides a summary in their feed. When full posts are in the feed, NIT displays just the first 500 characters of the post.

    For this reason, when the full post is in the feed, a post that is shorter than 500 characters will show up in its entirety. We selected 500 characters because that seemed to be approximate to the length of most summaries.

    Go through a category page and see all of the posts there. You’ll see that nearly all are just partial posts. However, if you think the criteria we’ve used needs to be re-evaluated, we can do that.

    I think you would agree that if we only provided a headline there would be no value to the reader and would generate fewer click-thrus to the author’s blog. So given the circumstances, we have attempted to draw a line that provides some consistency and satisfactory information without revealing the entire contents of an author’s work.

    You are right, it’s not cool to steal someone else’s work. There is no intent or attempt to do that.

  8. CeeElCee says:

    If you post the entire content of anyone else’s post without adding commentary or content, then that’s scraping. I write short, pithy posts. Often the first 500 characters of a post is the whole thought. I guess you can blame Twitter for that.

    If you include another aggregator like MCB in your feed, then the original posts are already being excerpted, therefore you’ll find yourself simply reposting a shortened version of the original post. That’s what happened in this example.

    What would I propose? Move away from the robotic scraper and have someone actually review what NiT hooses to post. If there’s no editorial comment, then there’s no value. I already have a feedreader.

  9. Jim Smith says:

    Move away from the robotic scraper and have someone actually review what NiT hooses to post. If there’s no editorial comment, then there’s no value.

    We have that too. Perhaps you missed it.

    NIT is no longer Brittney’s blog. But it’s also not just a robotic scraper, as you wish to call it. It has a lot more depth than that because it offers an opportunity for discussion, for real aggregation by content areas, and for group conversation.

    The changes we made are a gamble. We know that. Not everyone’s going to like it or understand it, especially if all they ever did was subscribe to its feed.

  10. newscoma says:

    This is to Jim Smith. I’m not familiar with this name but I saw this and had a reaction.
    Jim, one sentence maybe? Drive traffic, dude.
    Here’s the thing. We want folks to come to our blogs. It draws traffic. I’m not grossed out by the new aggregator but on the other hand, you aren’t sending smaller bloggers traffic and that’s the problem.
    To say that NiT is no longer Brittney’s blog is defensive and petty. No one is saying that it’s a bad idea, what CLC is saying that if you take the whole post then it hurts non MSM bloggers and that is a valid complaint.
    I like Christian a great deal and he and I get along fabulously. BUT I must say that this gamble is interesting and needs to be give and take.
    But, you know, remember the folks that aren’t MSM. And remember, we work hard on our posts. That needs to be said.
    It isn’t cool. It just isn’t.
    With that said, it’s a matter of doing things on your end on an IT level that helps everyone out. You, local bloggers, everyone.
    We will show up if you are one with the community, but do your part too.

  11. Jim Smith says:

    To say that NiT is no longer Brittney’s blog is defensive and petty

    I’m sorry, that wasn’t my intent. I thought I was just stating a fact as a way of reminding that we are trying to move on to something new. Please don’t take offense.

    what CLC is saying that if you take the whole post then it hurts non MSM bloggers and that is a valid complaint.

    All I wished to do was assure that there was no intent to take traffic from anyone. Clearly, I’ve not done a good job of that so far because I haven’t put that concern to rest.

    And remember, we work hard on our posts. That needs to be said.

    I understand this. You probably don’t know it, but I’m also a blogger. (http://cutter.wordpress.com) Well, I’m not good or consistent at it, but I try. And I understand, really I do.

    We will show up if you are one with the community, but do your part too.

    I tried to explain what is going on with the aggregated posts. I also said, “However, if you think the criteria we’ve used needs to be re-evaluated, we can do that.” So I guess I don’t understand why are we continuing to argue this. I hear what you guys are saying. I would like to hear what you think is a fair amount of the post to be included.

    When Christian and I started working on this project we only had two goals: (1) to provide some organization to the continuous stream of blogging in the community (2) to provide a central place that fosters additional conversation.

    None of that matters or works if instead we are causing aggravation and hard feelings.

  12. newscoma says:

    Jim, no hard feelings dude, but I think there is a knee-jerk reaction to local bloggers sometimes about Brittney. We are completely aware that era is over, we know that.
    I joined the new NiT right off the bat in this new format this week. It’s well done, no doubt about it. I’m in.
    And I’ve noticed that you guys have already made adjustments on the length of what the aggregator is taking, which I say good for you. Some people are going to like it, some others aren’t. As your consumers, this is just some honest feedback.
    It’s all good Jim.
    Now going to check out your blog.

Leave a Reply

