I Guess I’m Not as Enlightened as I Thought I Was

It’s been three days since the Nashville City Paper went to a schedule of 2 days/print, 3 days/web-only edition.

I’ve already forgotten about it.

I have gained five minutes per day of productivity by not doing the sudoku.

I thought I would keep reading it online, especially since they claimed they would have their comics on the website. Nope. It’s two new crappy comics and a link to a site where you can pay to view old B.C. strips.

What I really miss is the copy that would invariably be folded up and stuffed between the wall and the bathroom stall door.  The articles were edited to be exactly one dump long.  I’m not gonna carry a laptop into the shitter with me.

Chalk me up as a reader who apparently wasn’t ready to make the leap away from the print edition.

7 Responses to I Guess I’m Not as Enlightened as I Thought I Was

  1. the brain cells needed to do suduko?
    i killed them early on…

  2. Winston says:

    Ditto. I miss the portability, throwing one in my briefcase for perusing over coffee or lunch or whatever. They made a huge mistake… All in the name of profit, I’m sure, and I don’t object to that. But, yes, I miss it…

  3. Mistersippi says:

    I agree. I was addicted to the crossword puzzle. Doing it online is a pain in the ……..

  4. Jennifer says:

    Yeah.. I loved reading it on my early as hell morning shift at the JCC.. I have even become friends with the delivery guy… It’s a great paper for people with ADD.

  5. Lynnster says:

    Your continuing skill at turning 90% of your posts into something about bathrooms or bodily functions never ceases to amaze me, my friend.

  6. […] Smiley isn’t smiling too much about the new way that the City Paper is distributing their news. I thought I would keep reading it online, especially since they claimed they would have their comics on the website. Nope. It’s two new crappy comics and a link to a site where you can pay to view old B.C. strips. […]

  7. Scott says:

    I’ve always called it the Nashville Shitty Paper, not as a commentary on it’s quality or content, but because I could usually get through it cover-to-cover in the time it takes to have a good bowel movement (no sudoku for me). At my office, whichever of the men felt the call of nature first always got a copy and left it in there for those who followed. How am I s’posed to be regular now?

Leave a Reply

