Note to Insensitive eMarketers

Dear Pottery Barn, Wine Spectator, Magellan Travel, Target, Sears, Amazon, Red Envelope, Brookstone and any other mass marketer who has sent me an email over the past week reminding me that Father’s Day is coming soon and suggesting the perfect gift for my father,

He’s dead,  OK?

I hope you’re proud of yourselves.

We already bought him a freakin’ urn.  Sheez.

10 Responses to Note to Insensitive eMarketers

  1. Kate O' says:

    Yeah, I’ve been thinking that too. Of course I’m one of those insensitive marketers myself, so I guess I have to give myself a talking-to.

  2. ceeelcee says:

    Come to think of it, I did get one from y’all. But since I knew it was from you, I didn’t mind.

  3. Busy Mom says:

    I think what they really mean is to buy your friends stuff from those catalogs.

    I will help with your therapy.

    Am selfless like that.

  4. Lynnster says:

    I hear ya. I understand that it’s all about marketing, but I think it would behoove some of the more traditional companies to tone down their Father’s Day and Mother’s Day e-mail marketing for that very reason.

    When it’s some place like Amazon etc I try to make myself overlook it, but depending on what kind of mood I’m in, the annoying ones that land in my Gmail spam box occasionally get a nasty “my father’s been dead for X years, go away” email back. Not that they likely care.

  5. […] by Lynnster on June 11, 2008 My pal CeeElCee brings up a good point about all the flood of e-mail marketing preceding Father’s Day (and […]

  6. sistasmiff says:

    One time after my dad died, the old Williamson County Bank called my mom’s house and asked to speak to Biff. I said “He’s not here right now.” They asked when would be a good time to reach him. I said “Well, he’s kinda dead.” HAHAHAHHAHAA poor girl.

    Biff woulda loved that.

  7. Lesley says:

    Huh. Nine and a half years down the road and that email from Christie Cookie Company (and the one from LL Bean) didn’t even faze me. Now I feel like an asshole.

  8. jim voorhies says:

    Back before the do not call list came out, I used to tell phone marketers they couldn’t talk to me because I was dead. For some reason, it succeeded at stopping the conversation. Just like when I’d ask the vinyl siding people if they could install it over brick.

  9. lonestarwizzz says:

    And a good man he was. Still can’t see the color purple without thinking of him.

  10. Colleen says:

    I feel the same way whenever I get the emails or stuff in the mail (yes, I still get paper mail too). Although, I did hear a very politically correct radio ad while on vacation that encouraged you to shower your “father figure” with appreciation this year. I like that. Ever since my dad died, I’ve always sent some other father a card or something on Father’s Day, just to let them know they are a good “father figure” to me.

Leave a Reply

