“If it Says Libby’s, Libby’s, Libby’s on the Label, Label, Label”

When I ride my bike by myself on country roads, I’ve started using my iPod Shuffle at low volume to keep myself motivated and entertained.  My rear view mirror protects me from overtaking traffic and usually I can see a cow crossing the road from a mile away in the hinterlands.

But when I ride from home through downtown up Hermitage Avenue and the hooker/day laborer/hourly hotel/spooky cemetary/quonset hut tavern route that is my daily commute, no headphones for me.  I need 100% attention on the road and my surroundings to have a chance to arrive intact.

Unfortunately, that means whatever silly-ass song that gets in my head will stay there for my 35 minute ride, often hummed and whistled in single stanza segments on both the inhale and exhale as I climb hills.  Some recent brain-worms that have haunted me:

“Hot dogs.  Armour hot dogs.What kind of kids eat Armour hot dogs?
Tough kids, sissy kids, kids who climb on rocks.
Tall kids, short kids, even kids with chickepox
Love hot dogs… Armour hot dogs…
The dogs-kids-love-to-bite!”

“Mid-south bizness furniture.  Mid-south bizness furniture. Mid-south bizness furniture.” (repeat x 1000.  I’m not kidding.  That’s all there is to the damn song)

“It’s the New Zoo Revue.  Coming right at you.  With three delightful animals. They have fun with what they do.  They learn from their friend Doug.  (Their friend Doug!)  And his “helper” (quotes mine) Emmy Jo.  (Emmy Jo!) With Charlie! Freddy! Henrietta! They have fun learning what they don’t know.”

“867-5309. 867-530 ni-ee-yine.”

On the rare occasion, I can force these brainworms from my head by singing a verse of “Mustang Sally,” but I doubt the performance is too convincing to the “thirsty-two ouncer lunchbox special” set sitting on the bus stop bench considering I’m wearing skintight spandex pants with a padded crotch pad and a clown-suit jersey with Italian written all over it.

The worst is when I happen to catch a snippet of a commercial just as I go out the door in the morning.   I have a real fear that someday I will find myself in an emergency situation that is not necessarily life-threatening and I’ll end up on hold after dialing 1 (800) 588-2300.

14 Responses to “If it Says Libby’s, Libby’s, Libby’s on the Label, Label, Label”

  1. Lynnster says:

    I get the old Bunny Bread jingle more than anything else (you know… “That’s what I said, Bunny Bread”), but I’ve been prone to the Armour Hot Dogs and New Zoo Revue one too. (And you have SO dated us by bringing up the New Zoo Revue… argh.)

    There’s another commercial one that is looming for me lately too that is either from the morning Bozo Show or Channel 2 in the afternooons after school, but thankfully it hasn’t hit me what it is yet.

    I don’t recall them having a jingle (thank god) but those Vietti Chili spots during the Bozo Show used to bug me a lot.

  2. Lynnster says:

    I get the old Bunny Bread jingle more than anything else (you know… “That’s what I said, Bunny Bread”), but I’ve been prone to the Armour Hot Dogs and New Zoo Revue one too. (And you have SO dated us by bringing up the New Zoo Revue… argh.)

    There’s another commercial one that is looming for me lately too that is either from the morning Bozo Show or Channel 2 in the afternooons after school, but thankfully it hasn’t hit me what it is yet.

    I don’t recall them having a jingle (thank god) but those Vietti Chili spots during the Bozo Show used to bug me a lot.

  3. Lynnster says:

    Oh crap, I just now noticed your subject line. Now that one too.

  4. Scott says:

    You’ll love this one. “Born on a mountaintop in Tennessee…”

    And do any other long-time Nashvillians ever get stuck with this one in their heads?
    “What makes a house kinda special?
    Close friends comin’ through the door,
    Flowers bloomin’ in the springtime,
    Little children playin’ on a Buddy Allen floor.”

  5. Busy Mom says:

    New Zoo Review.

    I officially hate you.

    Empire!

  6. Kate says:

    Empire! No, I just got those monsters out of my head…

  7. jim voorhies says:

    …. twwwwoooo three hundred, Empire! A least it’s not bubble gum music. Could you imagine the torture of “Chewey, chewey, chewey” running through your head?

    Oh, sorry….

  8. bridgett says:

    “Safety Dance” — it’s the cure that’s worse than the disease for getting rid of earworms.

  9. Just this afternoon, I realized that all week I’ve been doing repetitions in my head of that “Shimmy Shimmy Coco Bop” song from the movie Big which I watched over the weekend. Now, that’s been replaced with the freakin Empire jingle. Argh

  10. fluffernutter says:

    Myyyyyyyy bologna has a first name/It’s O-S-C-A-R… Try singing that one in the scary hooker/day laboroer/quonset hut zone. I think you’ll find friends right away!

  11. [...] mirror protects me from overtaking traffic and usually I can see a cow crossing the road from a mhttps://thedryspot.wordpress.com/2008/06/24/if-it-says-libbys-libbys-libbys-on-the-label-label-label/Power struggle overshadows start of Le Tour – ScotsmanIf I go anywhere for more than two hours ?? to [...]

  12. Jack says:

    Here’s the Story of a lovely Lady……..

  13. Jacob says:

    Hey! Remember this one….. “Ay Ay Ay Ay I am the FRITO BANDITO, give me your corn chips and I’ll be your friend, the FRITO BANDITO you must not offend! Ay Ay Ay Ay……then there were these little erasersthat went on top of pencils that looked like the FRITO BANDITO in the Frito Lays chips economy pack! lol

  14. bruce stickney says:

    on ebay i got the 1974 mattel talking libby doll.i was
    wondering if it might be the real voice from the tv
    ad- i can”t find much reference information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

